Sixth Parliament Emerges with SLPP-81 Seats, APC-54 Seats

By Amin Kef (Ranger)

After one week following the announcement of the June 24, 2023 Presidential results by the Chief Electoral Commissioner of the Electoral Commission for Sierra Leone (ECSL), Mohamed Kenewui Konneh, who also doubles as the Returning Officer, Parliamentary and Mayoral results were also announced on the 1st July, 2023 at the Bintumani Conference Centre at Aberdeen in Freetown in the presence of Civil Society Organization representatives, the Media, representatives of political parties etc. The Parliamentary Election was conducted under the District Block System otherwise known as Proportional Representation System.

Before announcing the results, the Chief Electoral Commissioner commended all those who contributed immensely towards the successful conduct and outcome of the elections. He further disclosed that he will only be announcing the results for Mayoral and Parliamentary Elections and those for Councillors will be done next week.

According to the Parliamentary result, Fifty Four (54)seats nationwide were won by the All People Congress (APC) Party and the Sierra Leone People’s Party (SLPP) got Eighty-One (81) Seats countrywide.

With regards the Mayoral /Chairperson Elections, Kasho Hollande Cole representing the APC Party  was duly elected Chairman of the Western Rural District Council having scored One Hundred and Fifty Seven Thousand One Hundred and Sixty Four (157,164) valid votes cast representing 52.51% of the votes cast and Yvonne Aki Sawyer, also representing the APC, duly elected Mayor of the Freetown City Council with a total of Two Hundred Eighty Eight Thousand Six Hundred and Eighty Three (288,683) valid votes cast representing 51% of the votes cast.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here