Abass Bundu & Segepoh Thomas Re-Elected Speaker & Deputy Speaker

By Foday Moriba Conteh

In a significant turn of political events, the Sixth Parliament of the Second Republic of Sierra Leone has been constituted, following the swearing-in of 96 Members of Parliament (MPs) on July 13, 2023. The swearing-in ceremony, conducted by the Clerk of Parliament, Hon. Paran Umar Tarawally, took place according to the provisions of the Third Schedule of the Constitution of Sierra Leone (Act No. 6 of 1991).

The Sierra Leone People’s Party (SLPP) holds the majority, with 81 of the 96 MPs who have taken oaths. Other members include 14 from the Paramount Chief Members of Parliament (PCMPs) and one from the All People’s Congress (APC) representing Karene District in the North Western Region.

The election of Speaker and Deputy Speaker witnessed the return of Hon. Dr. Abass Chernor Bundu and Hon. Segepoh Solomon Thomas, respectively. After three unsuccessful rounds of voting, a simple majority resolution re-elected Bundu as Speaker, marking his second successive term.

The leadership of the Sixth Parliament has been announced, with Hon. Sahr Mathew Nyuma serving as the Majority Leader and Leader of Government Business. Other key figures include Deputy Leaders Hon. Bashiru Silikie and Hon. Saa Emerson Lamina, Chief Whip Hon. Dickson Rogers, and Deputy Whips Hon. Veronica Kadie Sesay and Hon. Ibrahim Tawa Conteh.

Despite these developments, the Parliament is still awaiting the swearing-in of 53 elected APC Members, which will complete the constitution of the Sixth Parliament.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here